The End

It is with great sadness that I officially close this blog.

I have been on a hiatus of sorts for a very long time, and while I originally felt that one day I might return, I have now decided that this is not going to happen.

This does not mean I am no longer a writer.

Writing is something I must do every day. It is a compulsion. It is the easiest way to relax and makes me happier than anything else on Earth. I am happy, knowing I have a gift which others admire and envy, and want to do my utmost to ensure that one day, it becomes my livelihood.

Journalism, however, does not seem to be the answer any more. I simply do not have the funds to put myself through an NCTJ-accredited masters degree, and am instead going into teaching. This, I hope, will offer me a stable income- money and a room of my own.

When I was 10 years old, I first announced that I would become a writer. I knew then that it would be difficult, but in twleve years, my feelings have not changed.

I feel happier now, knowing the terrain. I have seen how difficult it is to make my way, to stay on course. I have failed myself more times than I can say.

Rest assured, I will never give up.

The closing of this blog is a new start for me. It is the shedding of an old skin which will allow me to grow, and I wish I had had the courage to do it sooner. If I could change one thing about myself, I would be braver, because thatis the only thing, besides luck, holding me back.

So here is my pledge:

I am a writer, but a coward also. In order to be happy, I must fight against my instincts and be brave. It may anger or upset other people, but I owe it to myself to put my head above the parapet. So I will.

I will maintain the two remaining blogs I have on here, and post weekly. I will write every day, and read every week. I will open another blog under a pen-name, and actively promote myself under that pen-name. In time, I will become brave enough to use my real name, though not just yet.

I will bring focus to my work, clear aims, clear goals. I have been wandering about in circles for far too long. I will never give up,but will simply change my course.

One last word, for you: Thank you for being my reader.

Leave a comment